News

Sonic Mania is going to disappoint you; there I said it

This past weekend, in a special stream for Sonic the Hedgehogs 25th anniversary, Sega gave us our first look at Sonic Mania. This new 2D platformer which looks like a proper sequel to Sonic the Hedgehog 3, made quite the splash and has more than a few people excited that Sega may finally be getting it right. Before we get into the nitty gritty of my cynical thoughts on all of this, I want just to say; I hope they succeed. I hope this game is the incredible Genisis cartridge we’ve always wanted; I simply have my doubts that it will be.

The formula seems simple enough, and I’ll admit seeing Sonic in the sprite style of his glory days made me pretty damn nostalgic for a hot minute.  That trailer even made me fire up some Sonic 2, the high point for the little guy in my opinion. The longer I thought about it, however, and the further I separated myself from that trailer, the more I couldn’t help but think Sega is going to let me down.

 

sonicmania03_1469195440

These screenshots actually look pretty good

 

It’s unfortunate but with Sega’s track record we are more than likely looking at a Sonic 4 situation. The only difference this time? They’ve prettied it up in an art style that made me remember my childhood. A simpler time, when playing a Sonic game didn’t involve getting physically sick to my stomach. The art does look great, though, no denying that. Seeing Knuckles off of the steroids is enough to bring a tear to your eye.

 

screenshot-18

Sonic is a violent monster

 

 

The game will be taking the main gameplay components of Sonic, Sonic 2, Sonic CD, and Sonic 3 and Knuckles. Also, it brings a new drop dash ability as well as brand new zones and bosses. You’ll be able to play as Sonic, Tails, and a normal looking Knuckles as I mentioned earlier. Sega also announced a more mainline Sonic title for 2017 to be discussed at a later date.

So am I right? Is Sonic Mania doomed before it begins? I guess we’ll have to wait for Spring of 2017 to find out. For now, let me know what you think in the comments and check out the trailer below.

Standard

One thought on “Sonic Mania is going to disappoint you; there I said it

  1. Eh…we’ll see…but like you and every other gamer has said, I don’t feel optimistic about the chances of Sega pulling this off with aplomb. Generations was a step in the right direction, and was great fun, but I think they took several steps back with subsequent releases. Here’s to hoping, while expecting nothing special.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

