Review

Review: I am Setsuna is a love letter to PlayStation one era RPGs

Game: I Am Setsuna

Developer: Tokyo RPG Factory

Publisher: Square Enix

Platforms(s): Ps4(reviewed) Ps Vita( Japan only) Windows

I am Setsuna is a brand new fantasy RPG from Square Enix’s brand new studio Tokyo RPG Factory. For those that haven’t heard of this studio, or the game in question. This studio was founded with one thing in mind, making games that harken back to those unforgettable role-playing games of the PlayStation one. Games like Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy VII, and Suikoden, just to name a few. In this charge, I am Setsuna is undeniably successful.  I am Setsuna doesn’t isn’t just a good old style role playing adventure, it’s one that grabbed me in a way no game has in years. It reminded me of what it was like to be a kid with endless hours to throw at these games. Sadly, as an adult I don’t have all that time explore every inch of this world, I did check out most of it for you guys, though.

I am Setsuna follows the journey of Setsuna, a girl destined to die for the good of her people. You begin the game as Endir; a mask-wearing mercenary contracted to kill Setsuna. Upon discovering that his target is fated to die, Endir agrees to accompany Setsuna until the end of her journey, at which point his contract will be complete.

 

486cbc5120e14d701931767000c1956c54dc13f5.jpg

Some great art of the party

 

As you travel from village to village, Setsuna’s guard increases its ranks with a cast of colorful and delightful character, from elderly swordsman to child magicians. The sacrifices guard welcomes all types.

x_strike_1

Combo attacks in practice

 

I am Setsuna uses an ATB or active time battle system. For those of you unfamiliar with this it uses most of the same rules as turn based combat. Drop down menus, control of multiple characters, etc. the main difference here is that characters take their turns once a meter fills. This means if you wait too long to act the enemy might do so before you. The combat style borrows quite a bit from Chrono trigger. Three man party’s along with the combo system that Chrono trigger is famous for. Abilities such as spell as well as more powerful physical attacks and passive stat boosts can be set by equipping Spritnite. For anyone familiar with Final Fantasy VII’s Materia system, simply think of that. IF, however, you have no clue what I’m talking about, don’t worry it’s fairly simple. One of the games few traveling merchants allows you to trade items dropped by monsters for Spritnite stones. When a character equips a particular type of Spritnite, it allows them to use certain attacks and cast certain spells. If two characters are equipped with a certain Spritnite, it may also allow them to perform a massively powerful combo move when fighting together.

 

Graphically, I am Setsuna is pretty but nothing impressive. It uses simple looking 3D models for both characters and towns. These simply designed villages do often look beautiful across I am Setsuna’s snowy backdrops. When combined with it’s snowy, somber landscapes, the music of I am Setsuna is quite lovely. The soundtrack was composed by Tomoki Miyoshi, who has games like Soulcalibur V and Steins Gate under his belt. The music felt, in particular very reminiscent of Final Fantasy IX for me, one of my favorites in that series.

setsuna-180135

hey, she said the thing

 

I am Setsuna is proving to be my favorite game of the summer. While the story is shorter than most games in this genre, it has plenty of end game content that could keep me around a bit longer. This game shines, not because it is the perfect example of this sort of RPG, but rather because it came at a time when these kind of games are few and far between. For now, at least it seems the old school role-playing game will be kept afloat by Tokyo RPG Factory. I for one can’t wait to see what they do next. For old school RPG fanatics like myself, I am Setsuna is a must buy this summer. You can pick it up now on PSN or Steam for $40.00

Score: 10/10

Thanks, as always for stopping by to read, if you liked my writing throw me a follow. I’ll be here regularly with more reviews and news.

 

Standard

6 thoughts on “Review: I am Setsuna is a love letter to PlayStation one era RPGs

  1. What a glowing review! I had been following this, excited for a return to form for JRPGs. I’m not so sure about the high price point, but it does look tempting and you did just give it a 10.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cool post Rich. I was following this one for a short while and was saddened to see the mixed reviews on Steam. It sounds like however you thought this game was pretty great, so maybe we can see gaming shift back to this kind of genre. I played Chrono Trigger for the first time a couple years back and was blown away by what I had missed out on up to that point — there’s something very special and soulful about these types of games.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Rich’s Top 10 Games Of 2016 | Rich Meister Gaming

  4. Pingback: I Am Setsuna Moved Up To Switch Launch | Rich Meister Gaming

Leave a Reply

