Uncategorized

Top 5: Games for the Wii U

So The Wii U is just about at the end of its life. It’s a bittersweet moment. It’s sad to see a console pass so quickly; Nintendo made some mistakes in design and support of 3rd parties, and all we can hope is that the NX will rectify those errors. There are more than a few people who would tell you the Wii U was a waste with no good games to speak of, I disagree. So, with Nintendo’s NX looming over the horizon, I thought I’d put together my list of the top 5 games for the Wii U.

5. Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE

article_post_width_tokyomiragesessions

You got your Shin Megami Tensei in my Fire Emblem; you got your Fire Emblem in my Shin Megami Tensei. It’s the crossover game you never knew you wanted! Tokyo Mirage Sessions combines the demon-battling teenage drama of the Shin Megami Tensei series with the tactical battles of Fire Emblem. You play as a group of high school aged students trying to become pop stars who quickly discover their world is filled with demons; each character combines with an entity from another world for battle( that’s where the Fire Emblem characters come in.) As long as you don’t mind a bit of cheesy humor, this is a fantastic choice for any JRPG fan.

4. Captain Toad Treasure Tracker

573444

One of my favorite Wii U games spawned from the bonus stages of Super Mario 3D world, a game that didn’t make my list. As much as I did love Super Mario 3D world, I loved those stages, in particular, the most. So naturally Captain Toad Treasure Tracker made for hours of fun for me. You play as Captain Toad and Toadette navigating through puzzles to uncover gold stars at the end of the stage. For anyone looking for a relaxing puzzle game Captain Toad has your fix.

3. Splatoon

splatoon0522151280jpg-b0aaa2_1280w

The Wii U exclusive shooter is my number 3 pick. Splatoon is not your average competitive shooter. You play as Inklings, kids with the ability to transform into squid-like forms, battling with paint guns to see who can cover most of the map with their respective teams paint color. You’ll take damage and move slowly while standing in enemy paint but can travel at break neck speeds while traversing your own team’s paint in squid form. For anyone that likes their shooters oozing with personality or paint and squids, check out Splatoon for sure.

2. Super Smash Bros. Wii U

smash-bros-wii-u-release-date

I don’t have to tell anyone that the latest installment in the Super Smash series is a reason to buy the Wii U. This series is always a fan favorite, but this installment, in particular, is my favorite since Melee. Some great new character additions include Little Mac, Greninja, and even Cloud Strife and Ryu via DLC. The combat feels fluid, and the new eight-man brawls brought a lot of fun game nights with friends. Super Smash Bros. Wii U is number two.

1. Super Mario Maker

maxresdefault-21

So here we are, the god damn crown jewel of the Wii U. Mario Maker is more than a game to me, it’s like Nintendo read my freakin mind. Who’s the weirdo for drawing out Mario levels on graph paper now? With an insane amount of tools from the first Super Mario Bros., Mario Bros. 3, Super Mario World, and New Super Mario Bros. U you’ve got plenty of content to work with. I still fire up Mario Maker up from time to time just to check in on any new levels. It remains my biggest time sink on the Wii U to date. Hopefully, the 3DS version coming this December can hold me over until the inevitable NX sequel. Super Mario Maker is number one.

What are some of your favorite Wii U titles that didn’t make my list? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Top 5: Games for the Wii U

  1. Solid list! I appreciate that for as few games Wii U had, they were mostly extremely high-quality offerings. Your list is already really good. The only thing that might differ on my list would be putting Hyrule Warriors in there, but I was really addicted to that game, and I am still enjoying the 3DS version today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

